Chic Girl Profile

Have you ever wondered what goes on behind the scenes at Urban Chic?  Well, wonder no more Chic Gals; I’m here to provide you with an inside look at the girls who keep everything running on a day-to-day basis.  Every once in awhile I think it’s only fair to know what makes us tick, thus perhaps answering any pressing questions (fashion or otherwise, OBV!) you might have.  How fabulous, right?  So for my first Chic Girl Profile, I turned to none other than my roommatebffboss, the most stylish person I know, Cate.  So without further ado…

Name: Cate Morse

Job Title: Store Manager, Georgetown location

Who are your favorite designers? I have always loved Shoshanna for her dresses, especially in the summertime; they are perfect for dressing up or dressing down depending on what the night holds.  Rebecca Taylor is to die for, always – the soft colors and subtle prints brighten any day.  I also love Tibi, Trina Turk, DVF and Parker for the amazing silhouettes and colorful pieces.

What are your favorite pieces in the store right now? I’m dying over the Shoshanna twist drape waisted dress in dot & strapless tulip dress in blue tie dye, I love Shoshanna everything, but these make my heart beat particularly fast.  I am also in love with the Rebecca Taylor strapless dress in navy combo, and the Parker cami dress in pink flower.  I told you I loved those designers!  All of the resort merchandise in the store right now makes me so happy – so many colors!

What is your perfect party outfit? The Shoshanna beaded one-shoulder dress in tomato is one of the most fabulous cocktails dresses I’ve seen.  The bright color and shoulder detail make it the perfect year-round staple party dress.  I wore it over Christmas with tights and heels, and I fully intend on wearing it later this spring with wedges.  From cocktail parties to weddings to a drink down the street I think I’ll be able to get a ton of wear out of it, and it’s gorgeous, so what’s not to love?


In your opinion, what would be the perfect day to night outfit? I think, especially if you’re working in an office environment, that Diane Von Furstenberg mini wrap dresses are the perfect day to night look.  Just by changing your jewelry and heels you have an entirely new look that is both work appropriate and totally sassy all at the same time – definitely a great investment piece.

Who are your style icons? I’ve always really admired Diane Von Furstenberg, Brigitte Bardot, and Kate Moss for their eclectic but classic styles.

What is your personal style? I usually like to look trendy but be comfortable, and I love adding eclectic pieces to every outfit to make it my own.

What is your favorite season? Summer, of course!  I love warm weather and getting to wear dresses every day.

How would you describe your every day style? Well, in the Fall and Winter I usually stick to black leggings or jeggings (Citizens Avedons and James Twiggys are my faves) with Loeffler boots, a colorful silk top, and leather jacket or fur vest.  In the Spring and Summer, though, you can always find me in a printed dresses (long or short) with flip flops during the day and wedges at night.

What are three products you cannot live without? I don’t know if I could carry on without Commando underwear, Sara Happ Lip Slip, or Kai Body Butter.

And finally, what are three pieces you cannot live without? Shoshanna cocktail dresses and swimsuits, Vince sweaters for the wintertime, and Rebecca Taylor leopard cardigans…I know that was four, but I have to have them all!

So there you have it, style secrets straight from the bosses mouth.  As always, we would love to answer any questions you might have, so ask away!  Have wonderful weekends, Chic Girls, I know you deserve it!

xoxo,

C

Leave a Reply

