CHIC Girl Profile: CHIC Girl With An Eye For Style

Katie Curtin, Manager and Merchandiser

Katie Curtin, Manager and Merchandiser

Name:  Katie Curtin

Position:  Manager and Merchandiser

Daily dutiesOn a daily basis, I supervise staff, assist customers and handle requests/issues from our customers, the store room and our owners – In general, I’m accountable for making sure the store is running smoothly.  My favorite responsibility is being in charge of the presentation of the store.  Once a week, I redress the mannequins with our new merchandise and I also rearrange the store to accommodate new arrivals.  It’s fun for a fashionista like me to see what I can mix and match together!  If there is an event, I need to make sure the store looks its absolute best, which includes creating window displays and helping set up all of the props.

Top 3 style icons:  They’re not women but they all design some of the most gorgeous, perfectly tailored, innovative clothes in fashion today – Michael Kors, Ralph Lauren and Tom Ford.  Each of these men understand what silhouettes and cuts work on a woman’s body and are already legends in the fashion world. 

Favorite celebrity style:  I constantly follow Frida Giannini’s, Kate Moss’, and Elle Macpherson’s styles.  I’ve had an obsession with Gucci for as long as I can remember, and Frida Giannini is truly the creative force behind the brand.  Her style is timeless, and she takes a fresh, feminine approach to fashion.  Kate Moss is simply the real deal.  Kate simultaneously mixes pieces that are a bit rock’n’roll, a bit feminine and a bit of a designer’s best to create a unique look that works.  She is cool and sexy, disregarding the dress code but always getting it right.  Yes, Elle Macpherson is undeniably gorgeous and is an admirer of Gucci but she also defines glamour in a natural way.  Her style is effortless but CHIC! 

Best fashion advice you’ve ever received, read or heard:  For me, more is more.  Most people probably think this is terrible advice, but I’m an accessories girl.  What can I say?  … I love to pile it on.  As for more sound advice, I believe it’s best to only pick trends that work for your body type, but you can’t be scared to try something new.  It’s okay to pick a trend that’s a little out there – It’s fun to take risks and grab yourself some attention!

Favorite trend of all time:  Animal prints!  I don’t actually consider them a trend – I like to put them in the category of classics.  I will also always love long necklaces as they are great to layer with other accessories.

Your very own fashion faux pas:  Pink, zebra and backless…you don’t want to know any other details.

Worst fashion faux pas you’ve witnessed:  Platform flip flops.  I don’t know why, but they really upset me…really, honestly, truly upset me.

2 favorite pieces in Urban Chic right now:   I’m obsessed with the T Bags Long Maxi Knot Front Dress, which we just got in.  It’s the perfect Summer piece right now because it’s casual enough to wear on a hot day, but the pretty, gold rope tie makes it CHIC enough to wear out at night.  I’d love to style this dress with sparkly sandals, an amazing pair of gold earrings and a few delicate bangles.  I’m also in love with the Paige Roxbury Jeans in Aurora.  The powder blue hue is so refreshing for Summer and can be paired with multiple pieces in your closet!

Describe the perfect outfit for a BBQ:  For a casual BBQ, I’d actually love to sport the Paige Roxbury Jeans – They’re a skinny style that hits right at the ankle, which is perfect to show off a pair of cute gladiators!  I’d pair the jeans with the Rebecca Taylor Ruffle Cami in Cream.  This particular cami has the most beautiful, pastel pattern, which doesn’t exactly match the color of the jeans but complements it very nicely.  In this outfit, the grill won’t be the only thing that’s smokin’ at the BBQ!

Email Tracy@urbanchiconline.com to find out where to score Katie’s favorite pieces that were mentioned in this profile.

One thought on “CHIC Girl Profile: CHIC Girl With An Eye For Style

  1. I found theurbanchicblog.wordpress.com very informative. The article is professionally written and I feel like the author knows the subject very well. theurbanchicblog.wordpress.com keep it that way.

Leave a Reply

