CHIC Girl Profile: CHIC Girl With An Edge

Courtney Cannata, Head Buyer of Urban Chic

Courtney Cannata, Head Buyer of Urban Chic

Name:  Courtney Cannata

Position:  Head Buyer

Daily dutiesAs Head Buyer of Urban Chic, my responsibilities include researching new lines, placing orders to designers and remerchandising.  I also attend fashion shows in New York, which is a huge perk – Being able to see what’s happening next in fashion is awesome!  My day additionally includes maintaining contact with sales reps and of course, looking out for the next, big trend.

Top 3 style icons:  Audrey Hepburn is without a doubt one of my style icons.  She was a classic beauty and is the epitome of grace and glamour.  Audrey always looked fabulous in her “little black dress,” which is still a must have in fashion.  Every woman should have a LBD in their closet!  Brigitte Bardot is another woman whom I greatly admire.  With her curvy, seductive figure, she truly rocked it back in the fifties.  Despite Brigitte’s curves, she was not afraid to take risks and wear what she wanted.  Even now, designers continuously copy her sex kitten look – Pale lips, winged eyes and womanly silhouettes appear on the runway to this day.  Zooey Deschanel is absolutely adorable!  Whether she is sporting vintage items or clothes she made herself, Zooey’s style is clever and cute. I always find it fun and amusing to see what she’s wearing.

Favorite celebrity style:  I love the way Kate Hudson dresses.  She exudes a natural, bohemian look, which is forever in style, and she always appears to be dressed in an effortlessly cool and chic way.  I’m also obsessed with Cameron Diaz’ style.  Cameron loves to use bright colors to liven up her outfits.  She continuously wears bright earrings or carries a clutch to add that extra pop of color to glam up her outfits.  Nicole Richie undeniably has great style, and I can’t help but to flip through celebrity magazines to see what she’s wearing!  Nicole has similar tastes as Kate Hudson but wears more pieces for the everyday girl.

Best fashion advice you’ve ever received, read or heard:  Less is more – Don’t overload on trends!  If you try to wear too many trends at once, the outfit can become overwhelming and often ends up looking sloppy.

Favorite trend of all time:  Distressed jeans!  I absolutely love the look of a clean top against the rips of a distressed bottom.

Your very own fashion faux pas:  Don’t judge…My faux pas would definitely be large flannels from Mid-Island (a store in Long Island).  If I got a good grade, my mom would buy me a new flannel!  After a test or quiz, I would get so excited to run home and show her my grade.  I’d then pair the flannel with HUGE carpenter jeans from The Gap.  It was the grunge era…talk about a “killer” look!

Worst fashion faux pas you’ve witnessed:  Acid wash jeans are terrible!  They are especially so when a male wears them and they are very, very, very tight!

2 favorite pieces in Urban Chic right now:   Plaid is so in right now, and I adore the Splendid Checking Shirt in Leaf/Brown!  I would style the top with shorts and fun flip flops for day.  To create a look for the evening, I would pair the shirt with distressed jeans, very high heels and a bright Urban Expressions clutch.  I’m also obsessed with the Eze Oasis Top in Purple Paisley, which is especially pretty.  For day, I’d wear the shirt with denim shorts and Twelfth Street by Cynthia Vincent Gladiator Sandals.  To glam up the top, I’d throw on a pair of skinny jeans and cork wedges!

Describe the perfect outfit for a cocktail party:  Shoshanna designs amazing dresses for any occasion, and her clothes fit perfectly.  I love her Pixie Sticks Strapless Dress, which would be a flawless choice for a cocktail party.  Pair the dress with bright, fuchsia pumps and chandelier earrings, and you’re ready for a night out on the town!

Email Tracy@urbanchiconline.com to find out where to score Courtney’s favorite pieces that were mentioned in this profile.

Leave a Reply

